Views and Reports

From AgileApps Support Wiki

(Redirected from Category:Views and Reports)
Jump to: navigation, search

__NUMBEREDHEADINGS__

GearIcon.png > Administration > Access Management > Manage Views and Reports

Views and Reports let you organize your data and get a high-level perspective on your business.

Contents

1. About Views, Reports, and Dashboards

Views and Reports can be displayed as Widgets on a dashboard to display key information. Once created, Views and Reports can be printed or exported to a .CSV file.

Like Dashboards, Views and Reports offer Visibility Controls that determine who can access them: specific Users, Teams, or Roles.

1.1 Views

Views are a means to organize object data in a way that is meaningful to specific tasks, teams or users. Views present data in a list format, along with optional settings to customize and save views for reference or analysis. Users can create custom views with filters to isolate key information quickly and easily.

Learn more: Views

1.2 Reports

The platform's reporting engine provides a full set of options for users to dissect and refine into the format needed to make strategic business decisions or to monitor key performance indicators. Data can be filtered, ordered, color-coded, grouped, or charted into insightful management reports.

Learn more: Reports

1.3 Dashboards

Dashboards display a set of selected widgets, to provide an overview at a glance.

Learn more: Dashboards

2. Working with the Administration Settings

Lock-tiny.gif

Users that have the Manage Global Views/Reports permission can edit or delete any View, Report, or dashboard. 
Considerations
  • Changes made here are global. They override any user settings. All users are affected when a View or Report is changed or deleted.
  • There are restrictions on the use of Multi Object Lookup fields in a View or a Report.
    Learn more: Multi Object Lookup Considerations

2.1 Editing or Deleting an Item

  1. Click GearIcon.png > Administration > Access Management > Manage Views and Reports
    • By default, a list of Views is displayed.
    • Select Reports, Dashboards, or one of the other options to change the display.
    • Use the Alphabet Links at the top of the page to find an item by name.
    • Use the [Next]' and [Previous] buttons to move through the pages in the display
  2. Click the X icon next to an item to delete it.
  3. Click the folder icon next to an item to edit it.
    Learn more:

2.2 Best Practice for Standard Views

Standard Views are created because they are meaningful to most users, and generally do not need to be modified. If you find that a Standard View does not meet your needs, we strongly recommend that you save the Standard View under another name, and make the changes you require to the new View. This will preserve the original View for other users (who may like it just as it is), and it will allow this View to be used as a template to create additional customized views as your business needs change and grow.

If you attempt to save changes to a Standard View, you will be asked to confirm the action. A similar alert message will be displayed if you attempt to delete a Standard View.

2.3 Deletion and the Recycle Bin

This bears repeating: Changes made here are global - all users are affected when a View or Report is Edited or Deleted. When you delete an item using Views Management, it is sent to the User's Recycle Bin

  • The item is deleted for ALL other Users
  • The item can only be restored (undeleted) by the User that deleted the item
When Deleting: Affects:
Standard Views
  • Deleted for everyone
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item
  • Not visible in other users' Recycle Bin
  • Cannot be restored if Deleted from the Recycle Bin (Delete Forever)
Global or Public Views
  • Deleted for everyone
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item
  • Not visible in other users' Recycle Bin
My View or Private Views
  • Deleted for the User who created this view
  • Deleted for Users who have Visiblity rights to this view
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item

This table shows the results when a view is deleted.

View Delete using Views sidebar Delete using Manage Views and Records Save View preferences Result
All Records (Default view) Not required
Logged in user - Temporary view of All Records with two columns - record Locator and Object ID, is displayed.
Other users - All Records view is not deleted.
All Records (Default view) Required
If you do not save the View preferences, to all the users a temporary view of All Records with two columns - record Locator and Object ID, is displayed.
If you save the View preferences, then the All Records view is deleted for all the users.
All Records (Not a default view) Not required
Logged in user - All Records view is deleted.
Other users - All Records view is not deleted.
All Records (Not a default view) Not required All Records view is deleted for all the users.
Any view, say Created Today (Default view)Not required
Logged in user - Created Today view is deleted if All Records view exists. A Temporary view of All Records with two columns - record Locator and Object ID, is displayed if All Records view does not exist in the views.
Other users - Created Today view is not deleted.
Any view, say Created Today (Default view) Not required Created Today view is deleted for all the users. Default View is set to All Records, if All Records exists. A Temporary view of All Records with two columns - record Locator and Object ID, is displayed if All Records view does not exist in the views.
Any view, say Created Today (Not a default view) Not required
Logged in user - Created Today view is deleted.
Other users - Created Today view is not deleted.
Any view, say Created Today (Not a default view) Not required Created Today view is deleted for all the users.
Personal tools